0 Items $0.00 | Shopping Cart | Details
Questions or Assistance
give us a call 8-6 ET
or email us at
[email protected]

Notre Dame Fighting Irish Fleece: Football Panel

Product ID: cof000141
Notre Dame Fighting Irish Fleece: Football Panel

Product has been discontinued and is no longer in stock.  Below are new patterns much like the product you were interested in. Thanks for your understanding.
Width: 60 inches
Content: 100% Polyester
Background: Navy
Price: $14.98
Texas Longhorns Fleece: Logo Panel
Texas Longhorns Fleece: Logo Panel
Product ID: cof000206
Panels Available: 2
$14.98 per panel
The football coaches and players that have been associated with Notre Dame reads like a who's who of the all-time college football greats. Knute Rockne, Ara Parseghian, "The Four Horsemen", George "The Gipper" Gipp and many other football legends either coached Notre Dame or played there.


The very first game football game Notre Dame played did not mark an auspicious beginning to their football ambitions; it was an 8-0 loss to the University of Michigan on November 23, 1887. Though not yet the dominant football force it would become, Notre Dame had compiled a record of 108 wins, 31 losses and 13 ties by the end of 1912. By the end of the decade Notre Dame would have established an integral part of its mythos: the rivalries with Michigan, Michigan State, Army and USC.

In 1918 Knute Rockne was hired as head football coach. During his comparatively short tenure of 13 years, Rockne would transform the Irish from a good team into a legendary program. With Rockne as coach Notre Dame posted a record of 105 wins, 12 losses and 5 ties. The Irish also won 6 national championships and had 5 undefeated season with Rockne as coach. It was during this time that Notre Dame featured the famous "Four Horsemen": Harry Stuhldreher, Don Miller, Jim Crowley, and Elmer Layden. The nickname was inspired by this excerpt of an article by Grantland Rice:

"Outlined against a blue-gray October sky, the Four Horsemen rode again. In dramatic lore they are known as famine, pestilence, destruction and death. These are only aliases. Their real names are: Stuhldreher, Miller, Crowley and Layden. They formed the crest of the South Bend cyclone before which another fighting Army team was swept over the precipice at the Polo Grounds this afternoon as 55,000 spectators peered down upon the bewildering panorama spread out upon the green plain below."

The next great period in Notre Dame football began in 1941 with the arrival of new coach Frank Leahy. Although Leahy only coached the Irish for 11 season, his impact on the program was immense. Among his achievements were leading the Irish to a record of 87 wins, 11 losses and 9 ties including an incredible streak of 39 games without a loss. During coach Leahy's time in Notre Dame, the Irish won 4 national championships and had 6 undefeated seasons.

Leahy's successor was Ara Parseghian. From 1954-1963 Parseghian led the Irish to a record of  95 wins, 17 losses and 4 ties. His accomplishments with the team also include leading the Irish to two national championships and two undefeated seasons.

Dan Devine took over for Parseghian beginning in 1975 and continued the winning tradition of Notre Dame. His record with the Irish was 53 wins, 16 losses and 1 tie. The Irish also won a national championship in 1977.

The next great Notre Dame coach was hired in 1986: Lou Holtz. Between 1986 and 1996, Holtz would coach Notre Dame to a 95-24-2 record. During his time with the Irish, they had 1 undefeated season and won a national championship in 1988.

Overall, the Notre Dame Fighting Irish have won a record 11 national championships in football:

  • 1924: Coach: Knute Rockne, Record: 10-0-0

  • 1929: Coach: Knute Rockne, Record: 9-0-0

  • 1930: Coach: Knute Rockne, Record: 10-0-0

  • 1943: Coach: Frank Leahy, Record: 9-1-0

  • 1946: Coach: Frank Leahy, Record: 8-0-1

  • 1947: Coach: Frank Leahy, Record: 9-0-0

  • 1949: Coach: Frank Leahy, Record: 10-0

  • 1966: Coach: Ara Parseghian, Record: 9-0-1

  • 1973: Coach: Ara Parseghian, Record: 11-0

  • 1977: Coach: Dan Devine, Record: 11-1

  • 1988: Coach: Lou Holtz, Record: 12-0

In addition to these, the Fighting Irish also received votes as national champions in the following seasons: 1919, 1920, 1927, 1938, 1953, 1964, 1967, 1970, and 1989.

Even among the all time great programs, Notre Dame is matched by few. Along with Nebraska, Yale, Michigan and Texas, the Irish are part of the 800 win club.

Some of the individual awards given to Notre Dame coaches and players are the following:

Paul "Bear" Bryant Award

  • Ara Parseghian - 1964

  • Lou Holtz - 1988

Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

  • Ara Parseghian - 1964

  • Lou Holtz - 1988

  • Charlie Weis - 2005

Home Depot Coach of the Year Award

  • Tyrone Willingham - 2002

Heisman Trophy (Most outstanding collegiate football player)

  • Angelo Bertelli - 1943

  • Johnny Lujack - 1947

  • Leon Hart - 1949

  • Johnny Lattner - 1953

  • Paul Hornung - 1956

  • John Huarte - 1964

  • Tim Brown - 1987

Maxwell Award (Most outstanding collegiate football player, , adjudged by a panel of sportscasters, sportswriters, and National Collegiate Athletic Association head coaches and the membership of the Maxwell Football Club)

  • Leon Hart - 1949

  • Johnny Lattner - 1952, 1953

  • Jim Lynch - 1966

  • Ross Browner - 1977

  • Brady Quinn - 2006

Walter Camp Award (Most outstanding collegiate football player, adjudged by a group of National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors)

  • Ken MacAfee - 1977

  • Tim Brown - 1987

  • Raghib Ismail - 1990

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Most outstanding senior quarterback)

  • Tony Rice - 1989

  • Brady Quinn - 2006

Cingular All-America Player of the Year (This is a weekly and annual award given to college football's player of the week and player of the year respectively. The results are tabulated from a weekly cellular telephone poll conducted jointly by Cingular Wireless and ESPN)

  • Brady Quinn - 2006

Outland Trophy (Most outstanding interior lineman - offense or defense)

  • George Connor - 1946

  • Bill Fischer - 1948

  • Ross Browner - 1976

Lombardi Award (Most outstanding lineman - defense or offense - or linebacker)

  • Walt Patulski - 1971

  • Ross Browner - 1977

  • Chris Zorich - 1990

  • Aaron Taylor - 1993

Sammy Baugh Trophy (Most outstanding quarterback, adjudged by a panel of college football coaches and awarded by the Touchdown Club of Columbus)

Terry Hanratty - 1967

Brady Quinn - 2005

Nine former Notre Dame players have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, second only to USC (11).
  • 1963: Curly Lambeau - Green Bay Packers 1919-49

  • 1964: George Trafton - Chicago Bears 1920-22

  • 1968: Wayne Millner - Boston and Washington Redskins 1936-41, 1945

  • 1975: George Connor - Chicago Bears 1948-55

  • 1986: Paul Hornung - Green Bay Packers 1957-62, 1964-66

  • 1988: Alan Page - Minnesota Vikings 1967-78, Chicago 1978-81

  • 2000: Joe Montana - San Francisco 49ers 1979-92, Kansas City 1993-94

  • 2001: Nick Buoniconti - Boston Patriots 1962-68, Miami Dolphins 1969-74, 1976

  • 2002: Dave Casper - Oakland 1974-80, Houston 1980-83, Minnesota 1983

The design of the Notre Dame Fighting Irish Fleece: Football Panel is composed of the University's ND logo, Fighting Irishman logo and a football helmet over a navy background within a green frame. Each panel measures 60" wide by 50" long.

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish Fleece: Football Panel is not suitable for children's sleepwear. All patterns have been licensed by the University of Notre Dame and are for individual consumption only. Any other use of the Notre Dame Fighting Irish Fleece: Football Panel is prohibited and illegal.